The Time It Rained in the Basement…And Other Plumbing Stories

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

Wading through waste is another possible title for this post, but I went with the less offensive of the two. Luckily, not all of the stories are so drastic. We have had some issues with water in this house. It has not been too bad, but I am glad that the previous owner left contact information for an excellent plumber when I bought the house. The first time I needed his help was the spring of 2011 when my tenant flushed paper towels down the toilet, which blocked the sewage line and caused the waste to break through the old, rusting cap and flood the basement. Never flush anything except toilet paper. I promise that you never want to experience anything so disgusting. Luckily, Douglas had not moved in yet, so there was almost nothing in the basement. The plumber came within five minutes of me calling him and had unclogged the pipe and replaced the cap within fifteen. I nearly kissed him. That was long before I started this blog, however, so I do not have any pictures of the event. Here is a picture of the scene of the disaster and the new and improved sewage cap.

sewer cap in basement

Update: This blog has moved! You can finish reading this post here.

2 thoughts on “The Time It Rained in the Basement…And Other Plumbing Stories

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!

