Days 1-3 of the Drama Involving the Kitchen Floor

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

This should NOT be viewed as a “How to Tile” post. If anything, it is a “How Not to Tile” post. We are not professionals. This was the first tile job for both of us. Hopefully, our story will provide amusement and the attitude of “Hey, if they can do it, anyone can!” However, unless you are a professional, experienced amateur or a masochist, I recommend that you hire someone to do the work for you.

Day One: Saturday, March 16, 2013

We got a late start. Since it was the first day of spring break, we stayed in bed a little longer than normal, but it felt really good not to have to get up and go to work. After we finally rolled out of bed and ate breakfast, I started moving the furniture out of the dining room so that we would have room for the kitchen appliances.

Douglas pulled the stove out for me, and I painted the wall back there. It was really disgusting! You can get a reminder of what it used to look like while reading “The Time It Rained in the Basement…. And Other Plumbing Stories.”

Painting behind stove

Update: This blog has moved! You can finish reading this post here.

10 thoughts on “Days 1-3 of the Drama Involving the Kitchen Floor

  1. Wow, Jessica, I’m exhausted. HA HA! That picture of you with your head down just makes me want to hug you because I know that feeling OH SO WELL! Why, why, why, do people take such stupid shortcuts when working on their home. It only makes it hell for the next person. I’m so sorry. You made my bottom lip curl looking at that picture. (I’m going to boohoo for you). HA HA!

    Looks like you’re getting through it though and that’s all that matters. It’s not going to break you and you’ll end up with a beautiful new floor. We used that hardi-backer on our last house and it makes a world of difference. Good job!

    Looking forward to the progress. Hang in there and don’t let Crème de Menthe get bossy on you. (so cute)

    • Your support is much appreciated. It is nice to share with people who understand what we are going through. I will follow your advice above, and not let this get me down. However, I am not so sure that I will be able to control Crème de Menthe. She insists that everything be done properly or not at all! I wish the former owners had a cat like her. 😉

  2. You both look exhausted! Looks like Douglas (Junior) made you quinoa stuffed peppers. Can’t wait to see the end product of all your work!

    • That camera is great. I cannot wait to see what it can do when I learn to use it properly. Maybe I should say if I learn to use it properly. I have a lot on my plate right now.

      I can send the building inspector over to your house any time you need some extra “help.” 😉

  3. Hi Jessica–I just discovered your blog. I feel your pain on the kitchen floor project! Hang in there and keep up the good work. We recently removed 3/4 in. of vinyl, linoleum, and particle board, and we still have one more layer of linoleum to hack off before we install … brand new linoleum! Isn’t it amazing what crud we find when we peel back the layers of an old house! We also used Hardi-Backer on our bathroom floor–good product, makes it feel so solid.

    Your house is darling, and your kitty Creme is the spittin’ image of our kitty, Lacy! They are twins!

    • Hi D’Arcy! I am so glad that you found my blog and even happier that you commented. I get so happy any time I get feedback from my readers. It made blogging worthwhile.

      Good luck with your linoleum. Part of me wishes we had gone that route. It sounds so crazy to take up layers of “stuff” just to put the same “stuff” down, but it feels good to know that you are doing it the right way.

      Creme is sitting right beside me, and she says to greet Lacy for her. She thinks that Lacy must be a very beautiful cat. 🙂

  4. Wow – this is an insane project! I can’t believe you had damage to your walls as well. The finished tile looks great! Why are kitchen projects always the most exhausting?

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!

