Days 7-9 of the Drama Involving the Kitchen Floor

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

This should NOT be viewed as a “How to Tile” post. If anything, it is a “How Not to Tile” post. We are not professionals. This was the first tile job for both of us. Hopefully, our story will provide amusement and the attitude of “Hey, if they can do it, anyone can!” However, unless you are a professional, experienced amateur or a masochist, I recommend that you hire someone to do the work for you. You can read about Days 1-3 and Days 4-6, if you missed those posts.

Day 7: Friday, March 22

I started by pulling out all of the spacers, so that our kitchen floor no longer looks like a mini ceramic Arlington.

Spacers set in ceramic tile

Update: This blog has moved! You can finish reading this post here.

8 thoughts on “Days 7-9 of the Drama Involving the Kitchen Floor

  1. WOW! Major improvement, guys. Love the new floor and the fact that you did it all yourselves. HIGH-FIVE!
    That one picture with the “pattern” on the tile… is that from the grout haze?
    If it’s still there you might try dabbing some vinegar on it and let it set for a little while and it may come off. I had a pretty bad grout haze issue on my bathroom tile and vinegar saved the day.

    Anyway, I’m sure you’re so proud. It looks amazing. Working on your knees for days and days is a tough thing to do. Congrats on making it through!

    • Thanks for the tip. I was able to get the grout haze off with the cheesecloth. I thought that footprint was cool and almost would not have minded leaving it. Almost. I decided that the adult thing to do was to take it off. 🙂

  2. I just love following your updates, Jessica.You two are really doing a great job. One day I’d like to come up and visit, if that is ok? Stay motivated it really is coming out great.

  3. Jessica, the floor looks great! I’ve done tiling on both walls and floors, and it’s HARD! Takes lots of muscle to smoosh it into place, grout, and polish. I admire how you two kept at it and finished the project. And … I just can’t get over seeing “my” cat in your photos. Creme is so cute! 🙂

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!

