Let There Be Light

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

I am not God, but I was able to add a lot of light to my house this week. I accomplished that by asking Douglas to hang three light fixtures. It was that simple.

The good part was that there were thunderstorms again yesterday. I say that is a good thing for me, but it is bad for him. It meant that his workout was limited to a three-mile run and I was able to use him for house projects. In case you are wondering why a three-mile run is considered a short workout, he is training for his seventh Ironman this July.

Douglas' Ironman finish

We started in the dining room. We had planned to take this light fixture out since we moved in. Douglas hated it, and I did not like it at first. I must admit that it has grown on me. I particularly like how shiny it is when the light bounces off of it. However, it really is too big for this room.

Brass Chandelier

Update: This blog has moved! You can finish reading this post here.

12 thoughts on “Let There Be Light

  1. Just love all your new fixtures! So great to have something “old” that matches the decor of you house.

  2. Thanks for visiting my site, I have another one, LOL. I also love blogging because i can see temperate plants from others’ posts. Regarding this post, there’s no man in the house and i have long wanted to change my light in a corner, but can’t seem to figure out about how yet! But i don’t like any red light even when sleeping.

    • You don’t need a man to change a light. Have a friend come help you because it’s easier when someone holds the light for you, but it’s not that hard. I have confidence in you! Since I did get married until my late thirties, I learned to do most everything myself.

      I understand your feelings about the red light. I love red, and it is still a bit much for me. I will use it every once in a while for ambience I think. I have another light on my bedside for reading and every day use.

    • 🙂 I like the thought of them being hippie lights. My mom grew up with them and didn’t like them, but she came over tonight and said they felt like home to her. I guess she just needed some time to miss them!

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!

