Why We Have Not Been Doing Projects or Proof That My Husband Is INSANE!

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

Those of you who know my husband understand that he is crazy; those of you who do not know him are probably shaking your heads that I would title my post this way. I have a feeling that you will understand by the end.

You see, my husband is a triathlete. A triathlete is traditionally a person that competes in triathlons, races composed of swimming, biking and running. However, I think that Douglas intends it to mean that he will “tri” any kind of competition, the harder the better. This weekend I saw a t-shirt that read, “Insanity is what the undisciplined call dedication.” It is a thin line, in my opinion.

In total, he has done seven Ironman triathlons. A full Ironman competition starts with a 2.4 mile swim, followed by a 112 mile bike ride and finishes with a marathon, which is a 26.2 mile run. However, those are not enough of a challenge for him any more, so in April he did a 100K race. One hundred kilometers are sixty two miles. I refuse to run sixty two feet, so it is beyond me that anyone would choose to do something like that. Remember what I said about crazy?

At the end of a 100k run

Update: This blog has moved! You can read the rest of this post here.

 

6 thoughts on “Why We Have Not Been Doing Projects or Proof That My Husband Is INSANE!

  1. Douglas is an amazing athlete, and I admire his dedication (or insanity) so much. That’s the difference between a successful athlete and me: I’ll just sit down if the going gets physically tough. I DON’T give up on my house, thank goodness, and either do you. Good luck to Douglas in Milwaukee (my childhood hometown)!

  2. Pingback: The Lucky Horseshoe and Other Items From Costa Rica | Cape of Dreams

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!

