Homemade Cleaning and Personal Hygiene Supplies

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

For years now, I have made 70% (percentage approximated very unscientifically) of my cleaning supplies with rubbing alcoholwhite vinegarand baking soda. It has saved me money, and my house is clean as ever. Then, in November, I read this blog post about homemade deodorant, lip balm,shower scrub and eye make-up remover. Deodorant was on my shopping list at the time, and I thought that I would like to try a homemade deodorant. It took me a while to get around to doing it. Do not worry! I have been using antiperspirant in the meantime. I just pulled a stick out of my travel bag. Then, on Tuesday, I read this post on Apartment Therapy about cleaning the washing machine. I am not sure how, but that made me wonder if I could make my own laundry detergent and other products as well. I did some research, and my loving husband went out in search of the ingredients. He had to visit three grocery stores to find everything I needed. The good news is that I have large quantities of everything left over, so it will be a long time before we have to buy them again. Everything is available online, and next time I might just order everything from Amazon and skip the running around to different stores. The kitchen then became ground zero for production.

Making cleaning supplies

Update: This blog has moved!  Here you can finish reading this post to see how I made toothpaste, deodorant, laundry soap and dishwashing detergent.

7 thoughts on “Homemade Cleaning and Personal Hygiene Supplies

  1. That deodorant is the BOMB! Everyone I gave it to said it worked so much better than the store bought stuff, and when I apply it I just rub what’s left into my cuticles.

    I also don’t think it matters too much how exact your recipe is, as long as your coconut oil solidifies and makes it a solid. There’s no such thing as too much lavender!

  2. I like the salt in the toothpaste, a touch less would be better, but I wouldn’t remove it. Touch more peppermint though please! 🙂
    I like this toothpaste much better than what we’ve been buying, my mouth tastes cleaner, especially the next morning.

  3. Pingback: Trying to be Creative | Cape of Dreams

  4. I was checking out your deodorant recipe,and wanted to know how much of each you use to make this. Have been wanting to make my own,because I refuse to wear store bought because am allergic to all of it and plus don’t trust it. Could you please tell me the recipe for it? Thank you!

    • Mary, the deodorant is wonderful. My husband and I really love it. My only issue was that I developed a rash. I investigated and found out that this sometimes happens with homemade deodorant when your skin is still moist. I now wait a few hours after a shower to make sure that I am completely dry before I put it on. I have not had the issue return. My husband, who is an athlete who sweats and showers frequently never had a problem.

      I did not put the recipe because I got it from another blogger. I prefer people to go to her site. 1/4 cup baking soda, 1/4 cup corn starch, 6 tablespoons coconut oil, drops of tea tree oil and other essential oil (peppermint or lavender) to scent. I have found that these measurements do not have to be exact.

      I hope you love it as much as we do!

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!