Basket Case

Update: This blog has moved! You can check out this post here.

Last week, Victoria, my blogger friend, announced that she was having a link-up party for everyone to share an object that they love from their house. This is difficult for me. There are so many things that I love in my house. I travel frequently and pick up treasures on my journeys. I also enjoy garage sales and second-hand shops. Many of my valuables have come from the trash. Thus, my dilemma, what would I write about?

Perplexed

In the past, I have written blogs about the cool, circular couch that I found on Craigslist, the chaise lounge Douglas found on the curb, the drum I pulled out of the trash and turned into a side table. My art collection of women was the subject of yet another post, and in October, I wrote about the special pieces I have chosen to display on the shelves in the living room.

There are other special objects that I have not shared yet, but I cannot write about all of them in just one post. Luckily, on Sunday I received inspiration and decided to tell you about my baskets. I am literally a basket case! (pun intended) You may have noticed them displayed in my dining room.

Cape of Dreams dining room

Update: This blog has moved! You can finish reading about how I acquired my baskets  here. Hint: It involves a trip to Africa.

6 thoughts on “Basket Case

  1. Laughing… I too am a basket case. And looks like your cat is as well… And I know exactly the smell you’re talking about… I can totally imagine it.

    I didn’t expect the detour to Africa! That’s amazing… and I wanted to see more photos of the market! What a marvelous experience!!! I really like the orange shade… and would have been tempted to bring home a giant one…
    Thanks for sharing!!!

    • I would have taken more pictures of the “market” but that was really the whole thing. It was just a couple of stands by the side of the road. The trip was amazing. I went with two other teachers and a group of nine students. Now I need to go back!

  2. These are just beautiful, Jessica! I love the geometric desings. How lucky you are to have gone to Senegal to buy more at the source! I would have had such a hard time choosing from all the patterns and colors. It’s such fun to bring home art as souvenirs. Much better than t-shirts and refrigerator magnets! 🙂

    • It was extremely difficult for me not to buy more than I did. I would have loved to have one of the ridiculously large baskets. The only thing that stopped me is that I really had no way to transport them.

      I make it a goal to leave the country at least once every year and always try to buy meaningful items when traveling and not junky souvenirs. That is when I do all of my Christmas shopping as well. That way I am able to spend more money on people and buy them something original. The only hard part is waiting until Christmas to give them their gifts!

  3. Pingback: The Lucky Horseshoe and Other Items From Costa Rica | Cape of Dreams

  4. Pingback: Costa Rica Part II | Cape of Dreams

I would love to hear what you have to say about this post!